design-01

Design

design-02Design is our passion and a core element of the brühl brand. Our designs are timeless as well as unique, because we develop each piece of furniture independently and with a passion for what we do, and are never satisfied with compromises. We also design our furniture in a way that allows you to live with its flexibly and carefree – as well as, of course, completely eco-friendly.

COMPREHENSIVE CREATIONS

Design is the language of a piece of furniture: it appeals to us either directly or indirectly, moves, inspires, captivates. However, we at brühl expect more from our furniture: design must prove itself in everyday life; it must be timeless, functional and exceptionally useful. At brühl, everything has to be sustainable: through choosing natural, top-quality eco-friendly materials just as much as through an economic use of resources and ensuring that these materials can easily be separated, recycled and reused later on, and by designing products in a way that makes it possible to fit removable covers.

DESIGN DIVERSITY

design-03 Creative Director Kati Meyer-Brühl has been responsible for brühl’s designs since 2008. She has created such outstanding, timeless designs like mosspink, easy pieces forever, bongo bay or grace. Kati Meyer-Brühl studied at the renowned academies Bauhaus Dessau, HDK – Academy of Design and Crafts, the University of Gothenburg and the Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts, School of Design Copenhagen. She also holds Master’s degrees in industrial design from the legendary Central Saint Martins College of Arts and Design in London and Parsons, The New School for Design in New York, both with merit. This diverse international background is elementary to her work. Her multifaceted design style – from organic and decorative to streamlined and minimalist – is avant-garde, trendsetting and characteristic for today’s diverse market. She translates this diversity into unusual, individually customisable furniture with a high, flexible practical value. Kati Meyer-Brühl follows the credo: a piece of furniture must impress both in terms of aesthetics and functionality every day if it is designed for long-term use. Her works have won well in excess of a hundred national and international design awards and have been exhibited within the scope of the Venice architecture biennale.

design-04

Other ground-breaking designs by brühl – such as the multifunctional designs roro, moule, amber and four-two or the timeless classic visavis – were created by managing director Roland Meyer-Brühl. In addition, brühl has always also cooperated with renowned external designers such as Erik Magnussen, Volker Laprell & Volker Classen as well as Johannes Foersom & Peter Hiort-Lorenzen, for example.

Kati Meyer-Brühl – La Biennale di Venezia

design-04-venice-la-biennale-di-venezia

Following an invitation by the Global Art Affairs Foundation, Kati Meyer-Brühl participated in the international design show Time – Space – Existence at La Biennale di Venezia. Here: The designs grace, mosspink, hammersvik and les copains harp on show at the Palazzo Michiel dalle Colonne.

Design awards


The furniture designs from brühl have been awarded numerous national and international design prizes.
Design Center North Rhine-Westphalia reddot
Industrieforum Design Hannover: iF Design Award
Chicago Athenaeum, Museum of Architecture and Design: – Good Design Award
– Green Good Design Award
Interior innovation award winner
Interior innovation award selection
Nominated for the Design Prize of the Federal Republic of Germany Design prize Germany selected
Nominated for the German Design Award
German Design Award/Winner
German Design Award/Special Mention
International Design Competition Stuttgart, Focus Green Silver International Design Competition Baden-Wuerttemberg, Focus Open Silver
New Classic, Schöner Wohnen Magazine
German Federal Ecodesign Award, nominated
Green Product Award Winner
ICONIC Award Interior Innovation Winner
ICONIC Award Interior Innovation Selection
Stylepark SELECTED imm 2018 NOMINEE
Choices 2019 presented by Stylepark
Best of Interior 2020
German Innovation Award/Winner
German Innovation Award/Special Mention

Design Awards

design-01

Design

design-02 Design ist unsere Leidenschaft und ein Herzstück der Marke brühl. Unsere Designs sind gleichermaßen zeitlos und einzigartig. Das liegt daran, dass wir jedes Möbelstück eigenständig und mit Liebe zu unserem Tun entwickeln und uns nie mit Kompromissen zufriedengeben. Und wir gestalten so, dass Sie mit unseren Möbeln flexibel und unbeschwert leben können – und natürlich auch vollkommen ökologisch.

Ganzheitliche Kreationen

Das Design ist die Sprache des Möbelstücks: Es spricht uns subtil oder unmittelbar an, berührt, inspiriert, begeistert. Wir bei brühl verlangen von unseren Möbeln allerdings mehr als dies: Design muss sich im Alltag bewähren, durch seine Zeitlosigkeit, seine Funktionalität, seinen hohen Gebrauchswert. Bei brühl muss alles nachhaltig sein. Durch die Auswahl natürlicher, umweltfreundlicher Materialien in höchster Qualität ebenso wie durch eine sparsame Nutzung von Ressourcen und durch Trennbarkeit, Recycelbarkeit, Wiederverwertbarkeit und eine Produktgestaltung, die das Abziehen der Bezüge erlaubt.

Gestalterische Vielfalt

design-03Seit 2008 verantwortet Creative Director Kati Meyer-Brühl die kreative Seite von brühl. Sie kreierte herausragende, zeitlose Designs wie mosspink, easy pieces forever, bongo bay oder grace. Kati Meyer-Brühl studierte an den renommierten Hochschulen Bauhaus Dessau, HDK – Academy of Design and Crafts, University of Gothenburg und der Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts, School of Design Kopenhagen. Zudem belegte sie je einen Masterstudiengang an den legendären Universitäten Central Saint Martins College of Arts and Design in London und Parsons School of Design in New York City, die sie mit Auszeichnung abschloss. Dieser vielseitige internationale Hintergrund ist für ihre Arbeit elementar. Ihr gestalterischer Facettenreichtum – von organisch und dekorativ bis gradlinig und minimalistisch – ist avantgardistisch, richtungsweisend und prägend für den vielfältigen Markt von heute. Sie übersetzt diese Vielfalt in außergewöhnliche, individuell konfigurierbare Möbel mit hohem, flexiblem Gebrauchswert. Kati Meyer-Brühl folgt dem Credo: Ein Möbelstück muss ästhetisch und funktional jeden Tag überzeugen, wenn es auf Dauer genutzt werden soll. Ihre Arbeiten wurden mit weit über hundert nationalen und internationalen Designpreisen ausgezeichnet und im Rahmen der Architekturbiennale Venedig ausgestellt.

design-04

Weitere wegweisende Entwürfe von brühl – etwa die multifunktionalen Designs roro, moule, amber und four-two oder derzeitlose Klassiker visavis – stammen aus der Hand von Geschäftsführer Roland Meyer-Brühl. Darüber hinaus hat brühl immer wieder auch mit namhaften externen Gestaltern kooperiert, etwa Erik Magnussen, Volker Laprell & Volker Classen sowie Johannes Foersom & Peter Hiort-Lorenzen.

Kati Meyer-Brühl – La Biennale di Venezia

design-04-venice-la-biennale-di-venezia

Auf Einladung der Stiftung Global Art Affairs nahm Kati Meyer-Brühl an der internationalen Designschau Time – Space – Existence im Rahmen der Biennale di Venezia teil. Hier: die Entwürfe grace, mosspink, hammersvik und les copains harp im Palazzo Michiel.

Designpreise


Die Möbelentwürfe von brühl sind mit zahlreichen nationalen und internationalen Designpreisen ausgezeichnet.
Design Center North Rhine-Westphalia reddot
Industrieforum Design Hannover: iF Design Award
Chicago Athenaeum, Museum of Architecture and Design: – Good Design Award
– Green Good Design Award
Interior innovation award winner
Interior innovation award selection
Nominated for the Design Prize of the Federal Republic of Germany Design prize Germany selected
Nominated for the German Design Award
German Design Award/Winner
German Design Award/Special Mention
International Design Competition Stuttgart, Focus Green Silver International Design Competition Baden-Wuerttemberg, Focus Open Silver
New Classic, Schöner Wohnen Magazine
German Federal Ecodesign Award, nominated
Green Product Award Winner
ICONIC Award Interior Innovation Winner
ICONIC Award Interior Innovation Selection
Stylepark SELECTED imm 2018 NOMINEE
Choices 2019 presented by Stylepark
Best of Interior 2020
German Innovation Award/Winner
German Innovation Award/Special Mention

Design Awards